$7.20 USD · per user · per month · Flexible Plan · billed monthly · no commitment
$6 USD · per license · per month · Annual/Fixed-Term Plan — billed monthly · billed monthly · one-year commitment
Free initially supplies 50 licenses, with additional free licenses available by request. Premium billing runs through Google Workspace billing. Flexible is billed monthly without commitment; Annual/Fixed-Term is billed monthly with a one-year commitment, and license reductions wait until renewal. Switching an existing Flexible subscription to annual requires an upfront annual payment.
Paid editions list USD 3, 6 and 9 per user/month. Self-service licenses use blocks of 10 below 100 users and 25 above 100 users. Cisco Commerce subscriptions use different term and payment arrangements; enterprise purchases above 2,500 users are directed to sales.
Cisco Commerce Workspace: Contract procurement for the same paid editions, with quantity-based prices, standard 12–60 month terms and upfront term or annual billing. Enterprise Agreement 3.0 is also available.
Cisco Secure Access or Cisco XDR entitlement: Eligible organizations can access restricted Duo Essentials functionality without a separate charge; feature and quantity limits apply.
84Both editions include SAML SSO, 2-Step Verification and security keys, while Gmail and Calendar are separate Workspace entitlements; buyers can use Cloud Identity for workforce sign-in but should confirm any productivity-service requirement separately.
81Essentials and higher paid editions include SSO and passwordless authentication, while Free is an ongoing MFA edition for up to 10 users; buyers needing workforce SSO should confirm the paid-edition scope and enrollment count.
Workforce access policy control
76Premium adds Context-Aware Access and advanced endpoint controls to the shared directory and authentication baseline; teams needing those policy conditions should select Premium and validate their required device and access rules.
79Advantage adds risk-based authentication and identity threat controls, and Premier adds private-resource access and endpoint checks; buyers should match those policy requirements to the appropriate edition.
Identity lifecycle automation
79Both editions provide basic lifecycle and directory functions, while automated third-party application provisioning is Premium-only; buyers should map joiner, mover and leaver workflows to the correct edition.
80Paid Duo Directory supports synchronization and SCIM lifecycle automation for users and groups, with outbound provisioning to supported applications; buyers should verify their target directories and application flows.
Identity administration visibility
75Premium includes Security Center and 24x7 chat and email support, while Free support is community-based; administrators should confirm that their required security views and support channel match the selected edition.
77Advantage adds cross-platform visibility and identity threat monitoring, while the lower paid Essentials scope centers on core authentication and directory features; teams needing those monitoring controls should select and validate Advantage or Premier.
Workforce identity ecosystem reliability
72Directory federation and Active Directory/LDAP synchronization support mixed identity environments, while the supplied scope does not specify synchronization service guarantees; buyers should test the needed directory flows and confirm their operating requirements.
77Paid Duo Directory connects to named directory services and SCIM-compliant applications, while sign-in and provisioning reliability still depends on the buyer's target flows; teams should test their directory and application connections before rollout.
These are the stored dimension rationales returned with each score. They explain the buyer conditions behind the gap without speculating about hidden model reasoning.
Workforce identity ecosystem reliability
5 pts
Cloud Identity · 72/100
Directory federation and Active Directory/LDAP synchronization support mixed identity environments, while the supplied scope does not specify synchronization service guarantees; buyers should test the needed directory flows and confirm their operating requirements.
Duo IAM · 77/100
Paid Duo Directory connects to named directory services and SCIM-compliant applications, while sign-in and provisioning reliability still depends on the buyer's target flows; teams should test their directory and application connections before rollout.
SSO and authentication coverage
3 pts
Cloud Identity · 84/100
Both editions include SAML SSO, 2-Step Verification and security keys, while Gmail and Calendar are separate Workspace entitlements; buyers can use Cloud Identity for workforce sign-in but should confirm any productivity-service requirement separately.
Duo IAM · 81/100
Essentials and higher paid editions include SSO and passwordless authentication, while Free is an ongoing MFA edition for up to 10 users; buyers needing workforce SSO should confirm the paid-edition scope and enrollment count.
Workforce access policy control
3 pts
Cloud Identity · 76/100
Premium adds Context-Aware Access and advanced endpoint controls to the shared directory and authentication baseline; teams needing those policy conditions should select Premium and validate their required device and access rules.
Duo IAM · 79/100
Advantage adds risk-based authentication and identity threat controls, and Premier adds private-resource access and endpoint checks; buyers should match those policy requirements to the appropriate edition.
Research basis
Research basis
This page uses stored product facts, official evidence, and category scoring rationales. It is not an account-based hands-on test, and third-party user ratings are not folded into the category buying score.
Cloud Identity
Fact confidence: 97% · Fact checked: 2026-10-06
Duo IAM
Fact confidence: 91% · Fact checked: 2026-10-06
More tools
Workforce Identity and Access Management (IAM) Software
Add more tools from the same subcategory to this comparison. The page keeps up to 6 tools.
Microsoft Entra ID is Microsoft's cloud identity and access management product for workforce authentication, SSO, MFA, Conditional Access, hybrid identity, and application access.
Okta Workforce Identity is Okta's workforce IAM product for single sign-on, multi-factor authentication, directory services, lifecycle workflows, and access controls.
Duo IAM is Cisco Duo's identity and access management platform for workforce MFA, passwordless authentication, SSO, directory services, device trust, and risk-based access.
IBM Verify is IBM's identity and access management platform for workforce and other identity use cases, including SSO, MFA, adaptive access, passwordless authentication, and lifecycle provisioning.
Entrust Identity as a Service is Entrust's cloud IAM product for workforce and other identity use cases, with SSO, MFA, passwordless authentication, adaptive access, directory integration, and provisioning.
RSA ID Plus is RSA's cloud and hybrid identity and access management product for MFA, passwordless authentication, federation, SSO, and workforce access.
63
More comparisons
More same-subcategory comparisons for Cloud Identity
Compare the first tool against top-ranked and nearby tools in the same subcategory.